This is the image description.

About the EMS Agency

Alameda County Emergency Medical Services Agency (ALCO EMS) is a District within the Health Care Services Agency. We are recognized by the California Emergency Medical Services Authority as a "Local EMS Agency," or LEMSA. LEMSA's throughout the state are responsible for planning, implementing, evaluating, and regulating local EMS systems. Many of our responsibilities, and the authority needed to carry our oversight role, are derived from Division 2.5 of the California Health and Safety Code and related chapters of Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations.

The EMS System is comprised of many stakeholders including dispatch centers, first responder agencies, ambulance providers, hospitals, and specialty centers for the emergency care of victims of major trauma, stroke, and certain serious heart conditions.  The Alameda County EMS Agency coordinates the comprehensive emergency medical services system through its contracted and permitted provider organizations, as well as through the development and implementation of policies and procedures for prehospital care.

The EMS Agency works closely with system stakeholders as it seeks to continually improve patient care and service delivery through evidence-based policy and program development.

ALCO EMS promotes health equity through its Injury Prevention Program as well as its EMS Corps and Health Pathway Partnership programs which help prepare young people in underserved communities for careers in health care.

VISION 

Helping people live healthy and fulfilling lives through training, preparedness, prevention, and medical response.


MISSION

Alameda County EMS ensures the provision of quality emergency medical response services and prevention programs to improve health and safety in Alameda County.

Contact EMS

* required field

The overall goals of the Alameda County EMS Agency are aligned with the Institute for Health Improvement’s Triple Aim for health care, which are:

      • Sustain and improve the quality of clinical care the patient receives
      • Stabilize or reduce the cost of EMS services
      • Improve patient satisfaction
 
To support achievement of these goals, the Alameda County EMS Agency has identified the following six tenets for EMS System improvement:

      • Preserving a high level of emergency medical response throughout the County
      • Producing a system that is cost-effective while preserving a high level of response and care
      • Maintain a system that is County-wide (i.e., current Exclusive Operating Areas "EOAs"), which delivers consistent service throughout all areas and jurisdictions of the County
      • Maintaining and supporting the current and future EMS workforce
      • Promoting a system that is sustainable for the long term
      • Preserving the appropriate regulatory and oversight relationship between the Local EMS Agency (LEMSA) and its contracted and permitted providers.

 Finally, the essential elements of Alameda County’s EMS System include:

      • Prevention and early recognition
      • Bystander action/system access
      • Emergency Medical Dispatch of ambulances and First Responders
      • Telephone protocols and pre-arrival instructions
      • First Responder ALS services
      • Transport ambulance services (ALS and BLS)
      • Direct (on-line) medical control
      • Receiving facility interface
      • Indirect (off-line) medical control
      • Independent operational, financial, and clinical monitoring and quality improvement by the EMS Agency

EMS Main Office Phone Number: 510-618-2050
For all media related inquiries, please contact: 
Jerri Randrup, Communications Director, Alameda Health Care Services Agency, jerri.randrup@acgov.org

EMS Leadership Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Lauri McFadden EMS Director lauri.mcfadden@acgov.org
William McClurg Deputy EMS Director william.mcclurg@acgov.org
Anne Kronenberg Special Projects anne.kronenberg@acgov.org
Dr. Karl Sporer Medical Director karl.sporer@acgov.org
Dr. Jocelyn Freeman-Garrick Deputy Medical Director | Health Pathway Partnership Director | Health Coaches Director jocelyn.garrick@acgov.org
Kat Woolbright Injury Prevention Program Manager kathryn.woolbright@acgov.org
Adele Pagán IS Manager adele.pagan@acgov.org
Jim Morrissey Supervising EMS Coordinator | MHOAC | Disaster | Terrorism jim.morrissey@acgov.org
EMS Coordinator Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Cynthia Frankel EMS for Children | EMS System Plan | Automated External Defibrillators |
Reddinet | Disaster Preparedness Program
cynthia.frankel@acgov.org
Kreig Harmon Field Protocols | Digital Content | Logistics | Labor Liaison kreig.harmon@acgov.org
Michael Jacobs Specialty Systems of Care - Cardiac | Stroke | Trauma michael.jacobs@acgov.org
Elsie Kusel Continuing Education | Preceptor & Training Programs |
Community Paramedicine |Specialty Programs
elsie.kusel@acgov.org
Ryan Preston CA OES Region II Regional Disaster Medical Health Specialist (RDMHS) ryan.preston@acgov.org
Scott Salter EMT Certification & Accreditation | Professional Standards scott.salter@acgov.org
Lee Siegel Policies & Procedures | Continuous Quality Improvement |
Critical Care Transportation | Provider Accreditation
lee.siegel@acgov.org
Leslie Simmons BLS Ambulance Ordinance/Permitting | Receiving Facility Liaison leslie.simmons@acgov.org
Andrew Sulyma

Dispatch Liaison | Fire Department Liaison |
CA OES Region II Regional Disaster Medical Health Specialist (RDMHS)

andrew.sulyma@acgov.org
Gerald Takahashi Educational Programs  gerald.takahashi@acgov.org
Yolanda Takahashi Community Assessment and Transport Team (CATT) Project Manager |
911 EOA Transport Provider Liaison | Unusual Occurences | Compliance
yolanda.takahashi@acgov.org
Health Pathway Partnership (HPP) Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Sequoia Hall Health Pathway Partnership, Program Manager sequoia.hall@acgov.org
Health Coach Program Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
     
EMS Corps Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Michael Gibson EMS Corps Program Director michael.gibson@acgov.org
Lucrecia Bobo Career Job Placement Coordinator lucrecia.bobo@acgov.org
Deyante Newson EMS Corps Academic Case Manager deyante.newson@acgov.org
Injury Prevention Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Laura Fultz Injury Prevention Program Specialist laura.fultz@acgov.org
Ysela Jimenez Community Health Outreach  ysela.jimenez@acgov.org
Carol Powers Senior Injury Prevention Program (SIPP) Coordinator  carol.powers@acgov.org
Information Services Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Leo Derevin Data Analysis | Database Administrator | Reporting leo.derevin@acgov.org
Wilman Woo Webmaster | IS Support  wilman.woo@acgov.org
Administrative Services Team:
NAME POSITION EMAIL ADDRESS
Erica Campos EMS Secretary erica.campos@acgov.org
Michelle Barrientos Specialist Clerk II michelle.barrientos@acgov.org
Elise Harris Specialist Clerk I elise.harris@acgov.org
Sonya Lee Specialist Clerk I sonya.lee@acgov.org
Maria Ramos Specialist Clerk I maria.ramos@acgov.org
Shante Williams Specialist Clerk I Shante.Williams2@acgov.org
Click map to get directions. OFFICE ADDRESS:
Alameda County Emergency Medical Services
Phone:  510-618-2050
Fax:  510-618-2099

Please note:
Some mapping programs and GPS devices will route you to a location other than our offices. Our office is located near the Northeast corner of the intersection of Davis St and San Leandro Blvd, inside of Creekside Plaza.

HOURS:
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday